ICC International Court of Arbitration President Alexis Mourre has announced his intention to stand for re-election for an additional three-year term starting on 1 July 2018. A decision will be made by the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) World Council, upon recommendation of the ICC Executive Board, at the Council’s June meeting to be held in Paris.

Mr Mourre made the announcement in welcome remarks to 430 attendees of the ICC Commission on Arbitration and ADR which met in Paris on 10 April during Paris Arbitration Week.

Re-election would pave the way for Mr Mourre to lead ICC Court activities for a further three years, building on recent successes and international expansion efforts.

Mr Mourre has served as ICC Court President since July 2015.

The ICC Commission meeting was chaired by Carita Wallgren-Lindholm, who took over the helm as Chair on 1 January 2018, succeeding Christopher Newmark. The agenda of the meeting included discussions on the commission’s current task forces on arbitrating climate change related disputes, on measures to avoid the distortion of witnesses’ and on emergency arbitration.

The commission approved, by an overwhelming majority vote, its revised ICC Report on Construction Industry Arbitrations: Recommended Tools and Techniques for Effective Management of Arbitrations under ICC Arbitration Rules, prepared by commission co-chairs Aisha Nadar and Christopher Seppala.

In closing the meeting, Ms Wallgren-Lindholm announced the Steering Committee’s decision to create a new task force on Allegations of Corruption in International Arbitration.

David W. Rivkin, co-chair of the International Dispute Resolution Group at Debevoise & Plimpton the meeting’s guest speaker delivered an address on Arbitrator Selection by Parties and Counsel.